Archived Articles
  Year 2014
  Year 2013
  Year 2012
  Year 2011
  Year 2010
Year 2009
  Year 2008
  Year 2007
  Year 2006
  Year 2005
  Year 2004
  Year 2003
  Year 2002
  Year 2001
  Year 2000
News 2014
News ->Ahmed Kathrada, Gok Wan & Sir David Tang honoured at the Asian Awards 2014
Ahmed Kathrada, Gok Wan & Sir David Tang honoured at the Asian Awards 2014

4th April 2014

Salil Shetty of Amnesty International was recognised as the Public Servant of the Year at The Asian Awards 2014 Jackie Chan, Ahmed Kathrada, Irrfan Khan, Norah Jones, Salil Shetty (pictured), Gok Wan, Sir David Tang and billionaire Lui Che Woo were among those honoured at The Asian Awards 2014 at The Grosvenor House Hotel in London on Friday 4th April. The second annual Top 100 Most Influential Asians list was also launched, unveiling President of China, Xi Jinqping in top spot, followed by Indian leader, Sonia Gandhi, Vice Premier of China, Le Keqiang and Indian election front runner Narendra Modi taking fourth place. Founder of The Asian Awards, Paul Sagoo said, “this year The Asian Awards has truly lived up to its name, celebrating global Asian achievement in what was a triumphant night."

The Awards started with entertainment from singer and actress Preeya Kalidas, who performed for a crowded ballroom full of guests, including Idris Elba, Zayn Malik, Naughty Boy, Beverley Knight, Laura Mvula, Gok Wan, Lydia Rose-Bright, Amy Willerton, Nina Wadia, Nitin Ganatra, Jasmin Walia, Gurinder Chadha, Adil Ray and Mark Ramprakash amongst others. The awards partnered with charity Oxfam and raised a significant sum for the foundation.

The ceremony was opened by The Asian Awards founder, Paul Sagoo, followed by the presentation of the prestigious Founders Award by Golden Globe winner Idris Elba who honoured South African politician, former political prisoner and anti-apartheid activist Ahmed Kathrada. In an emotional historic acceptance speech, to a standing ovation, Ahmed dedicated the award to his brothers and sisters who did not live to see the freedom they fought for.

The coveted Fellowship Award went to Jackie Chan actor, director and martial artist who has been in the entertainment industry for 55 years.

Legendary Indian actor, Irrfan Khan was awarded Outstanding Achievement in Cinema. Irrfan has famously crossed over into western cinema, becoming the first Bollywood actor to star in two films that won the Academy Award for Best Director Slumdog Millionaire (2008) and Life of Pi (2012).

Norah Jones was awarded with the Outstanding Achievement in Music prize for her immense achievements in global music, while the Outstanding Achievement in Television award went to Gok Wan who was overwhelmed at receiving the prestigious award. Gok dedicated the award to his father who he said, "Has taught me that being Asian is cool.”

Hong Kong’s second richest man with an estimated worth of US $22 billion, Lui Che Woo picked up the Entrepreneur of the Year award; The Business Leader of the Year award wentto Vaccine billionaire, Cyrus Poonawalla owner of Serum Institute of India, the world's largest producer of vaccines, making more than one billion doses annually. As of March 2014, Forbes estimates Poonawalla's net worth at $4.9 billion.

Noble prize winning Sir Venkataraman Ramakrishnan was awarded Outstanding Achievement in Science; while the Outstanding Achievement in Sport award went to Indian cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Prime Minister David Cameron addressed the audience acknowledging the awards had grown from strength to strength, recognising the Asian Awards are the only Pan Sector Pan-Asian award ceremony in the world and stating how proud he was that they were held in London. In conclusion he paid tribute to the Founders Award recipient Ahmed Kathrada.

The Asian Awards - Full List of Winners

  • Fellowship Award - Jackie Chan
  • Founders Award - Ahmed Kathrada
  • Outstanding Achievement in Cinema - Irrfan Khan
  • Outstanding Achievement in Art - Sir David Tang
  • Outstanding Achievement in Music - Norah Jones
  • Outstanding Achievement in Television - Gok Wan
  • Public Servant of the Year - SalilShetty
  • Entrepreneur of the Year - Lui Che Woo
  • Business Leader of the Year - Cyrus Poonawalla
  • Outstanding Achievement in Science - Venkataraman Ramakrishnan
  • Outstanding Achievement in Sport - Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Visit for more information about the winners


Google Ads
  © 2001-2014. Copyright of Redhotcurry Limited. All Rights Reserved.
Home | About Us | Press Room | Contact Us | Sitemap
USA Site News | Business | Films | Galleries | Music | Theatre
UK NEWS & BUSINESS :  UK Site News | Business | Money | Property | Views
ENTERTAINMENT : Books | Festivals | Bollywood | Bollywood News | Bollywood Films | Films | Galleries | Museums | Music | Parties | Theatre | Television
LIFESTYLE : Culture | Eating Out  | Food & Drink | Health | Horoscopes | Home Decor | Garden | Shop | Style | Sports | TravelWeddings
MEMBER SERVICES eGreetings Cardsenewsletters | Wallpapers | Sign-up
Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Terms of Contribution | Community Standards